Usain Bolt elected principal of new school

Like it? Share it.

Entries are officially open for the PUMA School of Speed 2018, with long jump and high jump events having been added to the menu for this exhilarating nationwide series for athletes in the U14, U15, U16, U17 and U19 categories. The first meet takes place in Potchefstroom on Saturday 20 January 2018.

Launched in November 2016, the PUMA School of Speed is headed by the World’s Fastest Man, Usain Bolt, who has appointed Thando Roto, South Africa’s second fastest man over 100m, as his Vice Principal in South Africa.

The 2018 series will be hosted at the PUC Mc Arthur Stadium, Potchefstroom on Saturday January 20, University of Johannesburg on Wednesday January 31, Kings Park Stadium, Durban on Saturday February 10, Dal Josafat, Paarl on Monday February 26 and Bestmed Tuks Stadium, Pretoria on Saturday March 3.

Athletes can enter the 100m, 200m, 400m, 800m, 1500m, short hurdles and relays as well as long and high jump. The series is endorsed by athletics federations, so performances count towards qualification for provincial and national champs. The series attracts top talent with the following PUMA School Of Speed 2017 athletes representing SA at the IAAF U18 Championships: Siyabonga Ndlovu, Retshiditswe Mlenga, Zakhiti Nene, Malesela Senona, Manfred Johannisen, Katinka Louw, Curwin Gerste and Elke van der Westhuizen.

“Together with PUMA we are excited to help identify exceptional talent across South Africa,” says Michael Meyer, Managing Director of Stillwater Sports.

Event final prizes include PUMA School of Speed Tees, peak caps and medals. While the top three boys and top three girls at each meet, determined by the APE/ASA table, also win a pair of PUMA spikes, product and discount vouchers, and become part of PUMA’s elite running ambassador programme alongside Henricho Bruintjies, Jerry Motsau, Rantso Mokopane, Simonay Weitz and the Phalula sisters, for one calendar year. The six stars also get complimentary entries into premier PUMA running events the FNB Cape Town 12 ONERUN, the FNB Joburg 10K CITYRUN and the FNB Durban 10K CITYSURFRUN.

“The School of Speed was exceptionally well received in its maiden year,” says PUMA Marketing Director Brett Bellinger. “We are excited to continue this momentum and grow the sport. We’re even more excited to welcome new talent to our growing ambassador programme in 2018.”

Join the #ForeverFaster hall of fame. Are you in…?

Follow us on Facebook: School of Speed South Africa & Instagram: @schoolofspeed to keep up to speed on all the latest news or contact Stillwater Sports on 082 991 0045, via email or visit for race info and for media enquiries.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *